The Plough,   The Plough

The Team

D. Gibbon

G. Killen

P. Young

B. Howcroft

D. Mahony

N. Simmons

S. Day

C. Day

K. Blackmore

C. Evans

H. Davies

M. Brinning

D. Brinning

K. Brinning

O. Brinning

J. Brinning

1, Merthyr Road,
Cardiff, CF14 1DA

Secretary, Dave Gibbon

Tel. 07807 975106


Captain - Gordon Killen

Tel. 029 2956 6508


A Brief History

The Plough Aces were formed in 1969 and in the previous league won The Shell Cup in 2004-05. Other achievements for the side were winning the 4th division championship in1982-83 and division 2 runners-up in 2002-03. Individual honours went to B. Howcroft, the winner, in 1997 and to M. Brinning a runner-up in the 1997-98 season.


One night in 1989 the Aces were getting soundly beaten by the Dublin All Stars. On the last roll, leaving them 30 to win, one of the Aces threw a bar towel into the bar where the members of the DAS were sitting, in mock submission. At that time one of their team, Brian "Scoop" Davies had recently died and it was decided that both teams would sign the towel. It was mounted in a double sided glass case and named in his honour, the S.C.O.O.P. of Southern Comfort one and only prize. Each team the teams meet the trophy is turned to show the winners side and is mounted in the bar of The Plough Inn.