The Maltsters,  

The Malsters Cardiff

Merthyr Road,  

The Team

M. Morgan

T. Clarke

B. Ahmed

T. Davis

T. Stenson

G. Hurley

I. Furnham

S. Furnham

R. Mitchell

B. Williams

G. Thomas

Kev Alderman

Keith Alderman

Cardiff, CF14 1DD

Secretary, Mike Morgan

Tel. 029 2021 2840


Captain, Terry Clarke


Cup Runners-Up 2011 - 2012

Brief History

Formed in 1961 and playing in The Civil Service Club on Womanby Street in the West End "A" section of The Whitchurch and District League. The team also played in both North and Central divisions during the 1960's. A move to The Three Elms for the 1966 season was followed by another move to The Malsters in the following year and has remained as the home pub since. The team has mainly occupied places in the 1st and 2nd divisions since starting in the second tier of the re-organised leagues in 1970.

The Modernaires have been winners and runners up in the first and second divisions as well as The Shell Cup. A notable achievement in the game of skittles, was an unbeaten run of nineteen games, in season 1992/3.

Terry Clarke, Secretary and only remaining founder member, has won the old Individual competition on two occasions.