The Birchgrove,  

The Team

Dave Gibbon

Hoss Killen

Peter Young

Geoff Cantor

Liam Clement

Dave Mahony

Neil Simmons

Eric Davies

Dave Hallett

Joe Jones

Rose Gibbon

Kevin Lord

Allen Thomas

Ian Rennie

Dave Brinning

Kerry Brinning

Owen Brinning

Jonnie Brinning

1 - 3, Birchgrove Road,
Cardiff, CF14 1RR

Secretary, D. Gibbon

Tel. 02920 416783

Mob. 07807 975106

Captain - I. Rennie


Mob. 07484 178432

A Brief History

The Plough Aces were formed in 1969 and in the previous league won The Shell Cup in 2004-05. Other achievements for the side were winning the 4th division championship in1982-83 and division 2 runners-up in 2002-03. Individual honours went to B. Howcroft, the winner, in 1997 and to M. Brinning a runner-up in the 1997-98 season.


One night in 1989 the Aces were getting soundly beaten by the Dublin All Stars. On the last roll, leaving them 30 to win, one of the Aces threw a bar towel into the bar where the members of the DAS were sitting, in mock submission. At that time one of their team, Brian "Scoop" Davies had recently died and it was decided that both teams would sign the towel. It was mounted in a double sided glass case and named in his honour, the S.C.O.O.P. of Southern Comfort one and only prize. Each time the teams meet the trophy is turned to show the winners side and is mounted in the bar of The Plough Inn.

Dave Brinning collects his cheque as runner up, in the 2011 -2012 Individuals competition.
The Plough Aces renamed themselves The Aces in 2012 after The Plough public house underwent changes which involved the removal of the skittles alley. The Aces now play at The Birchgrove.