The Birchgrove,  

The Birchgrove

1-3, Birchgrove Road,

The Team

Phil Harrison

Mike Burnell

Ryan Burnell

Phil Strange

Mike Evans

Mike Carless

Chris Carless

Chris Hawkins

Brian Foley

Richard Coombs

Alex Ley

Nick Smith

Gerald Morgan

Peter Strange

Richard Gillespie

Alan Strange

Carl Poyser

Ben Whittle

Dave Clissett

Cardiff, CF14 1RR

Secretary, Mark Harrison

Tel. 029 2061 5298

Mob. 07974 000123


Captain, Paul Simmonds



Heath Hornets Skittles Team was formed in 1983 when it joined the then Division 7 of the Whitchurch and District Skittles League.

The team derives it name from the Heath Hornets football team that played in the Cardiff and District Football League. The football team used to train on Wednesday's and retire to the Birchgrove Pub for a few liquid refreshments when the idea to form a skittles team was borne. Although following a merger the football team lost its identity, the skittles team has been faithful to its roots and maintains the name to this day as well as its traditional Wednesday evening for home matches, the latter much to the annoyance of opponents!

With the exception of one season (1987/88) the team rose, as winners or runners up, from Division 7 to Division 1 in successive seasons, finally reaching Division 1 in 1990. Indeed, that latter season was the team's most successful when it was Division 2 Champions and Shell Cup Runners Up. The team finished Division 1 Runners Up in 1992/93 - its highest ever position. Following relegation, the team were promoted back to Division 1 in 1996/97 and had been ever present since.

Of the originally formed skittles team, currently 4 players still play, although all have since long hung up their footy boots!


Roy Bushell with a score of 32 won the first Skittles Cardiff Individual Competition.